Italy — Aeolian Islands



Aeolian Islands

The Aeolian Islands are a volcanic archipelago in the Tyrrhenian Sea north of Sicily. The locals residing on the islands are known as Eolians. We explored 5 of the 8 islands: Salina, Alicudi, Panarea, Stromboli, and Lipari.

Each island boasts surprisingly different personalities and moods; Panarea the posh party island, Salina the quiet garden isle, and on. Despite the remote nature of these islands, we met professors, fashion designers, chefs, musicians, expatriates, miners, priests, and fishmongers. And, okay, we ate a lot of gelato.